Welcome Back . . . let’s prepare for 2013!

I took the week off to enjoy friends and family, a very important gift I treasure during the holidays! Even in the chaos and sometimes dysfunction of family I pray for God’s love to be revealed in me and around those I encounter. I hope you felt the spirit of the season too.

As we begin to think of the New Year many of us will establish a personal resolution or goal. It might be centered around wellness such as to stop smoking, lose weight, or begin an exercise routine or perhaps you’re considering improvements such as organization, debt reduction, or establishing a daily time of devotion. My word of encouragement is this, remember IMPROVEMENT over perfection!!

Think of small incremental changes that will help you achieve your goal(s). Seek to challenge yourself but not overwhelm yourself. Establish a written goal that motivates you, it should be written with clear direction and purpose, this will help you with focus and decision making.

I am going to provide a sample goal and a target budget that I find very helpful to keep balance in my life. As a frugal gal I want to enjoy life but be responsible at the same time.

By December 31st of 2013 I will have a personal financial statement reflecting the following spending goals:
Housing expenses will not exceed more than 35% of my net income (this is mortgage/rent, utilities, insurance, taxes)
Transportation will be no more than 20% and this includes car payments, insurance, license fees, gas and maintenance
Debt will not exceed 15% of my income (this is credit cards, personal loans, medical debts and student loans)
I will tithe 10% of my income and I will save 10% of my income
I will spend no more than 10% on other expenses such as food, clothing, entertainment, etc

Recognize you have control over saving and spending, much like eating and weight loss! It must begin with an inventory and personal responsibility over the choices we have made and will make in the future. Budgeting doesn’t mean having less, it means having a plan and working the plan. I hope this has inspired you to consider what your 2013 goals will be.

Please feel free to send me suggestions or questions and I will be happy to reply. God’s blessings to you and yours!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Welcome Back . . . let’s prepare for 2013!

  1. I hope you had an enjoyable holiday! Getting control of finances is one of my New Year’s resolutions for this year. I like the information you posted and the percentage breakdown that you use for your finances. It was very helpful! As I continue to read your tips on becoming a frugal gal, I am sure that I will move closer to my goals. Thanks!

  2. pjtuttle says:

    The gently falling snowflakes made me feel at peace! Your advice regarding establishing financial guidelines to live by was very helpful. You took such a practical approach that most of us could benefit from applying to our own situations. Not everyone could align their expenses to the same percentages that you suggested, but what a great guideline.

    • Frugal Anita says:

      I agree and understand, even in my situation my percentages are a little skewed. I find the guidelines a helpful tool to know where I need to readjust. Thanks for commenting.

  3. I really enjoyed these tips, I think it is very important to keep a budget in order to understand where all of our money goes.

  4. I like your post and how you parallel of spending money to eating to much. Being frugal is important and having a plan to carry that out is key. You give some very good ideas and I like the fact that you aks viewers to interact with you. Great post and great blog! Love the snowflakes too.

  5. christy simmer says:

    I love your blog and feel like your tips are broken down in a way everyone can understand and use. It makes me want to take more time to manage my finances (says the girl who doesn’t even balance her checkbook lol). Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Frugal Anita says:

      I can relate, I must admit I don’t balance my checkbook regularly either. If you run a budget scenario at least every 6 months and keep your expenses in check it’s not as concerning. However, if you incur bank fees because of avoiding this I would encourage you to change that practice. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

